Help Me Jesus!

help me!For a couple of days now I have thought about how I try so hard to carry out things on my own, apart from God.  Some of them are huge,  daunting obstacles that hinder forward movement, yet others are little nagging problems that I put up with.

I was reading the story of the demoniac in the New Testemant, found in Mark chapter 9.  A young man is possessed of a demon and has many terrible symptoms; the demon has even tried, on multiple occasions,  to kill the boy.  It is when his father brings him to Jesus seeking deliverance, that an interesting thing happens.  In the choice of words used by the man, we get a glimpse into our own personal lives.  He says, “If you can do anything, do it. Have a heart and help us!”

Yes, He said if.  That word says, “I am not so sure you are who you say you are, I have heard of you, but don’t know you personally.” Jesus responded sharply, cutting right to the core of the matter.

23 Jesus said, “If? There are no ‘ifs’ among believers. Anything can happen.”

24 No sooner were the words out of his mouth than the father cried, “Then I believe. Help me with my doubts!”

No ‘ifs’ among believers. That challenges me because I have a long list of ‘ifs’ sitting right here in my pocket. Do you have an issue that is physical, relational, maybe emotional in nature?  Anything that concerns or hinders? I am sure you have heard David’s story. He made many mistakes along the way, but do you know that in the Psalms I found 47 verses in which he says that God is his help, or he cries out for help? Psalm 18 is an amazing chapter, especially when read in The Message Bible.  Read this excerpt, and let it encourage you to know that your cries do not fall on deaf ears.

4-5 The hangman’s noose was tight at my throat; devil waters rushed over me. Hell’s ropes cinched me tight; death traps barred every exit.

A hostile world! I call to God, I cry to God to help me. From his palace he hears my call; my cry brings me right into his presence— a private audience!

He is ready, all that’s left is for you to cry out to Him.

One thought on “Help Me Jesus!

Leave a Reply

