A Prayerful Life Is A Blessed Life

When the struggle is hard, you have become tired and weak, you seem to be battling for lost causes, the enemy reminds you of your past, your friends and family forsake you, you can’t seem to get ahead, and the dreams and hopes of your heart have failed,  you may have the urge to give up.  If you have been beaten down for as long as you can remember,  take heart my friend; Jesus is still with you.

I know this because what I described above typifies my life and existence, up to a point.  I want to encourage you because it is when we really don’t see it coming that quite often, the tide is turned. We hold the keys to the change that we think will come from an external source.  We look at our circumstance and let it dictate our lives. We don’t get the job offer or promotion that seems tailor-made for us, and that takes us down a path in which we wonder why we are cursed.  The mistakes we once made, though repented of and redeemed by the blood of Jesus, just haunt our every step.  Am I speaking of something that rings familiar to you as you ponder this, though possibly a little different in nature?  I’ll tell you what blessed is;  peace in your heart.   I have arrived here through an indirect route,  for I tried to find it in every way apart from God.

It’s just like any problem, question, or lack of understanding we have of God, the answers are found in His word to us.


Philippians 4:6-9

Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.  Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse. Put into practice what you learned from me, what you heard and saw and realized. Do that, and God, who makes everything work together, will work you into his most excellent harmonies.(MSG)

Harmony.  As a musician that speaks to my heart, and it is what I was searching for in vain. I knew the holder of the keys to that peace all along and yet dwelt in a land devoid of hope. I am not perfect, I still doubt sometimes and fear can grip my soul, but it is all put into it’s proper perspective through prayer. My challenge to you: replace your worries with prayers, giving all to Jesus.  You will be so greatly blessed with His peace that you will wonder why it took so long to get on your knees.

One thought on “A Prayerful Life Is A Blessed Life

Leave a Reply

