New Biblical Vistas Await You

The Bible, Crazy Stuff!

I am going to share with you what happens when I dive in to the Word of God;  just about anything!  It is literally crazy stuff. I search the scriptures based on what I sense God is saying to me and, as I peruse the verses, more insight just jumps right off the pages! It kind of makes it difficult to narrowly focus my vision on a specific subject when I am drawn into other thought processes that equally intrigue me. Not only that but, as I do word searches, I am given clarity in things that I had never previously comprehended.

The Gutenberg Bible displayed by the United St...

Comfort vs. Confront

I am trying to understand why we need all these books on Christianity when we have the original blueprint right in our hands.  I suppose writing that focuses on a specific topic of special interest to us might be beneficial. But how?  My belief is that we are a bit lazy, or too busy, or maybe just think buying the book and skimming it will appease our conscience; and God.  We latch onto theology that comforts instead of confronts us and our actions. We speak all about grace but little about the sin which plagues us.  We don’t want to offend by somehow bringing someone down with the truth, so we coddle and baby things that God speaks strongly about.  God Himself calls the Bible a two-edged sword, and that is an implement that cuts both ways. No wasted motion is involved here.

Hebrews 4:12,13 (MSG)

God means what he says. What he says goes. His powerful Word is sharp as a surgeon’s scalpel, cutting through everything, whether doubt or defense, laying us open to listen and obey. Nothing and no one is impervious to God’s Word. We can’t get away from it—no matter what.

I am constantly being challenged by Gods Word, and if you aren’t, something is terribly wrong.  This Christian life and faith are not one-time happenstances, for we are not saved by Jesus’ precious blood to just go on through life with spiritual blinders on. We are in a continual state of evolution, if I may use that word; one in which we are becoming something we were not when we began the journey.  There should be no point at which we kick it into neutral and coast, feeling that we have striven enough to warrant a vacation from our diligence. You will receive what you are willing to dig for in this book called the Bible, and you will be empowered in ways you never knew possible by what is contained within its pages.

Phenomenal Cosmic Power

I pray that these few words have planted a seed that will grow into an appetite for the Bible, and that the Holy Spirit makes you discontent with a superficial understanding of His Word. That as we begin to devour it for ourselves, light would be shed abroad toward all men.  We need to be fearless when we open this book. It is not for the weak of heart or the timid. Its power is limitless when it is wielded properly.

Leave a Reply

