We are made by God, no alterations needed! (Part 1)

Psalm 139:13-16 [msg]

Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out; you formed me in my mother’s womb. I thank you, High God—you’re breathtaking! Body and soul, I am marvelously made! I worship in adoration—what a creation! You know me inside and out, you know every bone in my body; You know exactly how I was made, bit by bit, how I was sculpted from nothing into something. Like an open book, you watched me grow from conception to birth; all the stages of my life were spread out before you, The days of my life all prepared before I’d even lived one day.

I understand the frustration of things that are out of our control from birth, I really do. I was born into some difficult circumstances, but does that gives me the right to mar what GOD has created? I ask this question as someone who has, in times past, perverted what God created me to be through various selfish means. That is wrong, I was wrong.

It is true that we all question God at times. We cry out in pain and disbelief that we must endure so many unfortunate events in our lives. The atrocities committed by man and forced on mankind are well documented, and yes even in the name of Christ. We can see our faith wain in the heat of so much undeserved wrong perpetrated on this Earth.

But lets take a step back here…

God is the creator, He is the maker, the originator of ALL things and He does all things well. And yet we continue to “make ourselves equal with God” by re-creating ourselves in our own image. If we are indeed “sculpted from nothing into something”, then as Christians we must believe that God created us as we are for a purpose  He is God.

The world will do what they think is right in their own eyes, and that is to be expected. But those who confess the Lordship and sovereignty of God are bound by their faith to trust that what God has created, has been brought forth to be a blessing. God is the ultimate maker of all things…even us.

Dictionary.com – Form, to place in order; arrange; organize.

Oh yes, you shaped me first inside, then out; you formed me in my mother’s womb.

I am willing to trust that God made me, and that He is good. That His plans, as He has made me, are also Good.

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.            Psalms 139:13-16 (NIV)
Leave a Reply

