I Had a Dream

I dreamt last night that someone I used to know in my adult life sexually assaulted me. Now if you know my story you know it’s one of abuse when I was a child and adolescent, so this is a new sensory experience. I woke up right out of the attack and so remembered it fully.

I am not sure what to make of it at this point. Is there something I am supposed to do with this information or should I discard it like most dreams we have? The person who did this to me in the dream was someone I knew for many years and had a somewhat difficult relationship with. I am upset by this.

It should be noted that people who have been abused often have flashbacks and dreams either of what happened to them directly or associated with the treatment they received.

I am not going to dwell on it but I did want to relate this to others so they can further understand the processes of dealing with childhood sexual abuse. It is a lifelong problem that doesn’t ever go away, ever.

Leave a comment