The Grace Lie

People just don’t want to hear about the law anymore. It’s grace they want to live in, and who can blame them?  A  blanket absolution for any and everything they do from the moment salvation is received,  right up to being called into the arms of Jesus.  “Ahhhhhhhhh, relax, it’s OK, that’s all covered by the blood of Jesus, no really, even that!”

But we are warned about taking grace for granted, and in the verses of Romans 6, the subject is clearly defined.  I have a new appreciation for the Message Bible. It really opens up some understanding on this. Verses 1-3 say the following:

So what do we do? Keep on sinning so God can keep on forgiving? I should hope not! If we’ve left the country where sin is sovereign, how can we still live in our old house there? Or didn’t you realize we packed up and left there for good? (MSG)

I quickly think, “but everyone’s definition of sin seems to be different.” In our society there is such a permissible spirit that you get a pat on the head and a few comforting words that it’s OK,  and it is that thinking has infected Christianity and the church.  I identify with Paul, the writer of 1 Timothy 1:15 when he says,  This is a faithful saying, and worthy of all acceptation, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners; of whom I am chief. (KJV) 

I have done terrible deeds against Him and His Word,  in the process making the testimony of Christ a mockery.  When I fully embrace grace, I can not come to God without a complete admission of the reality of my life apart from Him.  So I say with great conviction, it isn’t OK to sin, it never is –  and, despite the grace of God, He is grieved when one of His children makes the wrong choice.

The grace lie says to us, “I have a free pass, I am only human and prone to sin, His blood will cleanse me, after.”  The truth is that I have His grace to help me make the choice not to sin, and this is eternally found in every drop of Jesus’ precious shed blood.

4 thoughts on “The Grace Lie

  1. Pingback: Saving Grace | This Day With God

  2. Thanks for sharing. It is so easy to get in the mindset of having a “pass” when we sin. I find sometimes that I think I’m doing pretty good and then realize “compared to whom?” Good food to think on today.

    Like

Leave a comment